2013 Turfgrass Research Contributors

12.02.01-Research Contribrs200Thanks must go to the organizations, companies and individuals who have  made generous contributions to turf research through both donations and supporting events and functions like our Silent Auction and 50/50 draw.  We would of course like to specially thank those who serve on our Research Committee (see list below)

Total funds raised so far in 2013 have exceeded expectations and currently sits at $23,013.85!  Here are the 2013 turf research contributors: 

13-04-16-Pent.conf21WCTA Life Member Syd Pickerell Helps Manage A Successful Silent Auction

13.04.16-Pent.conf5Kwantlen Alumni Dinner 'Putt for Research' Popular With Attendees

2013 Silent Auction - $10,901
50/50 draw at conference - $760
'Give me 5 bucks
' campaign - $910
donations from allies for booths at conference - $450
KPU Turf Club conference fundraising - $1240
BCGSA Annual Donation - $3500
In Memory of Len Heyworth - $4097

Platinum ($2000 Or More)

Len Heyworth Memorial Fund (managed by Kootenay Superintendents)
BC Golf Superintendents Association

 Gold ($500-$1999)

Kwantlen University Turf Club
Peter Sorokovksy's 'Give Me 5 Bucks' campaign

Silver ($1 - $500)

Jim O'Connor - Rivershore Golf Course
Hugh Norris - City of Surrey
Jim Boeckman - Dawson Creek G&CC
Barry Evans - Kelowna Golf Club
Geraldine Atchison - In Memory of Len Heyworth
Jeff Hoyem
Fred Halldorson - Grassmaster
Karen Hounsome - Eljay Irrigation
Tim Tripp - Neudorff North America
Irrigation Industry of BC
Kwantlen University

Current Turfgrass Research Priorities:

  • Nutrient and fertility management, best management practices
  • Soil and root-zone management, best management practices
  • Evaluation of alternatives to pesticides
  • Irrigation and water use issues (water quality and reducing water usage)
  • Investigations into the biology, ecology and management of current and emerging pests
  • Alternative cultivar and species for new turf construction, integration and conversion into existing turf areas
  • Species/cultivar evaluation and improved management practices for areas of heavy traffic and wear tolerance

 2013 Turfgrass Research Committee

Peter Sorokovsky - City of Burnaby (Chair)
David Davidson - Kwantlen Polytechnic University
David Duncan - THP Co. (WCTA Past President)
David Woodske - BC Ministry of Agriculture
Dr. Brian Holl - Lamorna Enterprises
Keith Lyall - Sun Peaks Resort (WCTA President)
Stephen Kerbrat - Smithers Golf Club (BCGSA Representative)
Mark Dalton - Meadow Springs Country Club (NTA Representative)
Ladd Legeyt - Agrium Advanced Technologies (Industry Representative)
Dr. Michelle Gorman - City of Victoria (Special Consultant)
Elizabeth Hudgins - (Special Consultant)